Making Mechs Introduction and Mech 1

I’ve been making a lot of Mechs recently for Battletech.  Part of it is that I just enjoy number-mining and building something within the confines of a set of parameters.  That’s the scientist in me.  I’m also doing it because I’ve had the opportunity to play more Battletech over the last few months and I’m getting some more insight on how the game plays and how we might play it a bit more smoothly.

Era 3025 is certainly the most balanced tech.  All the same weapons and design parameters are available to all of the Mechs and you don’t have the advanced tech of the Clans creating an imbalance in game.  This means that for the students and friends that I play with, I am forced to consider ways to speed up gameplay and including more advanced tech may be the way to go.  I’m not just thinking about it for speed of play.  There are also a lot of cool advanced armors in Battletech that I have never played with that I would at least like to try out.  Another goal is that when we open up Mech design to Tac Ops, we’ll be under the inevitable cat and mouse metagame of trying to out-design your opponent.  You can bet that the people I play with now will be looking for highly effective compounds.  It may get min/maxy, but that won’t bother me in the short term if it is something new.  It will at least give me the language of knowing exactly what to restrict in future games.

“If you’re worried about game speed so much, why not just play Alpha Strike?”  Oh, I have the rulebook as a PDF.  I’ve looked through it a little bit and I plan to try it out with my school game club sometime this year.  I’m not a stranger to “quick play” miniatures games. I played the Star Wars Miniatures Game for five years and helped judge the last National Championship.  On the other hand, I like Battletech because you can afford to get attached to your units for a little bit.  They are there for multiple turns.  It helps you to care about them, consider them to be valuable assets, and make more realistic moves that doesn’t involve you smashing them up against your opponent with no thought of the Mechwarrior’s well being.  I’m sure Alpha Strike has Forced Withdrawal rules, but it just isn’t the same to me.  I’m going to try it.

What follows are some Mechs that I’ve been working on to try out some Advanced tech.  They are either Inner Sphere or Mixed tech bases.  I normally don’t adhere to canon or era because my group doesn’t really care about those things either.  We just want to play.  Plus, in starting up Battletech a few years ago with my buddy DJ, we had a loose rule that we would stick to 3025 tech.  However, unless you are a student of Battletech and really pay attention to the equipment era and tech level codes, you can break your rules for era or tech level quite easily.  So, since this is supposed to be fun, I’m not worried about it too much.  We can always say:  “That was broken” and develop house rules after the fact of what we think should stay and what we think should go.

So, here they are.  I’ve been focusing on using Endosteel and XL engines to really squeeze every ton possible out of these Mechs in exchange for extra critical slots.  XL Engines scare me a little because they greatly increase the chances of Engine hit deaths.  I’ve also been considering the role of each of these Mechs, adding appropriate weaponry while also deciding on what type of advanced armor might benefit that particular Mech.  I’ll release a new Mech every day for the next few days.

Today’s Mech:

My goal for the Fusilier was as an out-in-the-open style Missile Boat/Sniper.  The Stealth Armor will make it harder to hit, and it will likely be paired with a Striker or Brawler to further draw attention away from it.  With 28 heat sinks, it can always move, always keep Stealth armor active, and always fire either the ERLL and an ELRM10, or both ELRM10s with no heat concerns.  If I need to push it, it can fire all of its weapons and take on a heat burden of 6-8, which isn’t exactly debilitating.  When the ELRM10s run out of ammo, it has the ERLL as a permanent weapon not dependent upon ammo.

Fusilier FSL-01

Rules Level: Experimental Tech
Technology Base: Mixed
Chassis Config: Biped
Production Year: 0
Extinct By: Unknown

Chassis: Unknown Endo-Steel
Power Plant: Unknown 260 Fusion Engine
Cruising Speed: 43.2 km/h
Maximum Speed: 64.8 km/h
Jump Jets: None
     Jump Capacity: 0 meters
Armor: Unknown Stealth Armor
Armament:
     1 (IS) ER Large Laser
     2 (IS) Extended LRM-10s
     1 Guardian ECM Suite
Manufacturer: Unknown
     Primary Factory: Unknown
Communications System: Unknown
Targeting and Tracking System: Unknown


Technology Base: Mixed 65.00 tons
Chassis Config: Biped Cost: 7,053,860 C-Bills
BV2: 1,637 Tech Rating/Era Availability: X/X-X-X

Equipment Mass
Internal Structure: Endo-Steel 3.50
Internal Locations: 1 LT, 3 LA, 3 RA
Engine: 260 Fusion Engine 13.50
Walking MP: 4
Running MP: 6
Jumping MP: 0
Heat Sinks: 14 (28) – Double Heat Sink (10 in engine) 4.00
Heat Sink Locations: 2 LT, 2 RT
Gyro: Standard 3.00
Cockpit: Standard 3.00
Actuators: L: SH+UA+LA+H    R: SH+UA+LA+H
Armor: 211 points – Stealth Armor 13.50
Armor Locations: 2 LT, 2 RT, 2 LA, 2 RA, 2 LL, 2 RL
Internal Armor
Structure Factor
Head: 3 9
Center Torso: 21 32
Center Torso (rear): 10
R/L Torso: 15 23
R/L Torso (rear): 7
R/L Arm: 10 20
R/L Leg: 15 30

 

Weapons and Ammo Location Heat Criticals Tonnage
(IS) ER Large Laser CT 12 2 5.00
Guardian ECM Suite RT 0 2 1.50
(IS) Extended LRM-10 RT 6 4 8.00
(IS) Extended LRM-10 LT 6 4 8.00
@ELRM-10 (9) HD 1 1.00
@ELRM-10 (9) LT 1 1.00

BattleForce Statistics
MV S (+0) M (+2) L (+4) E (+6) Wt. OV Armor: 7 Points: 16
4 2 2 2 0 3 0 Structure: 5
Special Abilities: ECM, STL, SRCH, ES, SEAL, SOA, IF 1

 

Created using Solaris Skunk WerksDownloadable here

Leave a Reply

