Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D

As a Platinum Club Nintendo Member again this year, I got to choose a reward.  I was excited to see I could get a full release game for free!  The game was first released in 2010 on Wii and is based upon the hugely popular Donkey Kong Country series that started on Super Nintendo and continued with Donkey Kong 64 in 1999.  Here are my impressions!

I tend to avoid platformers as I am not a “reflex gamer”.  I’m just really bad at timing things.  I’m more cerebral. I want time to think about my moves.  That said, I have this nasty habit of avoiding games simply because they have the identifier “platformer” attached.  I took a chance with Kid Icarus Uprising a few years ago and loved it.  I took a chance with this game (it wasn’t a hard chance being free) and am loving it as well.

This game has helped me to understand that there are different kinds of platformers, some I like and some I don’t.  I don’t like “success vs, failure” platformers.  In those platformers, you either succeed or you don’t.  When thinks get really difficult, you can’t even progress.  DKCR3D is a “degrees of success” platformer where it isn’t very difficult to complete a level.  The challenge is in getting all of the puzzle pieces, kong letters and time trials as quick as possible.

So, I’m only two worlds in, but this is my “style” of platformer.  I can go as far as I want with it.  I’m not locked into a “success or no success” model.  Plus, the game is very pretty to look at.  It has a great sense of humor and the levels change with a wide variety of different “events” that make them especially interesting.

Leave a Reply

