X-wing Miniatures Tournament

I did an X-wing Miniatures tournament today.  I didn’t intend to play competitively.  I just wanted to play.

The tournament was at Legend in Omaha and I had never been there before.  It is much more of a Comic shop than a gaming store, but they have a decent gaming area in the basement, a connected coffee shop, and a great looking store.  They don’t really sell much gaming stuff, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it.

Eight people showed up for the tournament. I got there and immediately broke off a peg into my A-wing.  That will have to be taped or super-glued or both. *sigh*  I was just so excited to be playing the game!

I went in with a Rebel Squad consisting of:

Wedge Antilles (X-wing) + R2 Astromech + Push the Limit (33)
Ibtisam (B-wing) + Fire-Control System + Heavy Laser Cannon (37)
Arvel Crynyd (A-wing) + Cluster Missiles + Stealth Device (30)
My first match was versus a guy running two Z-95s and two X-wings.  His squad had good synergy and was built around transferring focus tokens and pilot skills.  The pilot skill swap is eventually what killed me.  I got 32 points of his squad.
My second match was versus a very helpful gent who was very forgiving of my newness to the game.  He ran a Lambda shuttle, a TIE Defender and two TIE Bombers.  His Lambda had Vader as a crew member, making it so that he could do single auto damage to me after an attack.  I nailed the Bombers pretty quickly, but that left the huge armor of the Defender and Lambda to contend with and I lost the late game.  I got 33 points of his squad.  I improved!
My last match was versus a woman running a generic Firespray, a TIE Defender, and two TIE Fighters.  I really should have won this match.  She damaged herself by running into asteroids for at least three points, but I made some key positioning mistakes.  I killed her entire squad but left the Firespray on the field with four hull left.  Close, but not enough.
I got a few alternate art TIE Academy Pilots for participating and I learned a lot about what I like and what I don’t like.  I have further collection plans to utilize the metric crap ton of store credit I got for trading in old Star Wars Miniatures to CoolStuffInc.com.

 

Leave a Reply

