X-wing Regionals Planning

X-wing Miniatures Regionals are coming up.  I have my squad.

My big problem with X-wing as of late is twofold: 1) I have no time to practice.  2) What “should” work is often very different from what I can actually fly effectively. So, for this Regional, I was all ready to run tanky Soontir Fel with Autothrusters and Modifications, Echo with Advanced Cloak, and Mauler Mithel with Predator.  There would of course be other upgrades.  That’s just the basics.  My problem with doing this is that I haven’t actually flown Echo yet (no time to practice) and, honestly, I’m not really sure that I’ve had very much fun flying it.  Those are all pretty strong arguments that I shouldn’t fly it and I’m not going to.

I need to run something strong that will give me a chance, that I can probably fly well, and that I will have fun flying.  I think this is it:

DashSalt

Its basically a turreted tank with high action economy and a tanky fighter that shoots twice and then goes on defense.  I think its pretty straight forward to fly.  Dash stays on the outskirts and takes potshots at range 3 with three dice with the Mangler Cannon.  I’m choosing Mangler here to save on points and avoid the range 1 “blind spot” of the Heavy Laser Cannon.  Corran goes in, shoots twice, and then uses PTL to swoop out, regain a shield, perhaps barrel roll away, and use Evade and Sensor jammer to avoid hits.  Corran regroups with Dash and rinse, repeat.  It will obviously struggle with High PS evaders and other tanky ships given that I don’t have a lot of dice.  I’m fine with that.  I’d rather fly something I’ll enjoy.  One advantage of it is that if my ships do survive for a while, and a game comes to points, I may have a lead.

So, we’ll see how it goes!  Wish me success!  My goal will be to have fun and try to win at least one game, as always!

Leave a Reply

