The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy impressions

I haven’t posted much lately.  The Holidays are a busy time personally and an exhausting time professionally.  I’ve been plugging away at classic literature since this summer and my latest is The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

I ended up liking this one a lot more than I thought I would.  I think part of the reason for that has to do with a first introduction gone awry.

I think I first picked up the book in a book store over ten years ago.  I read the first few pages and didn’t quite understand the dry British humour (with a “u”) and decided that I didn’t like it.

Fast forward quite a few years and I’m now ready to enjoy it!  And enjoy it I did.  HHGTTG is delightfully absurd.  As science fiction tropes go, I am a big fan of the “Much Wider Universe” than Earth angle.  Adams does a great job of making Earth feel insignificant compared to the rest of the Universe until the big reveal at the end. *spoilers below*

I think Adams did a cool thing in creating Arthur Dent as the last surviving human who was part of a mouse-run experiment.  His character immediately takes on more significance when it is revealed that he holds Earth’s whole progress on “the question” up until the moment when the experiment was prematurely terminated (by coincidence).  I’m looking forward to Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

This somewhat more cohesive connection between stories makes Adam’s work more interesting to me than Pratchett’s Discworld series.  That isn’t to say that there aren’t connections between the Discworld novels.  They just aren’t plot connections.  I’m not ready to give up on Discworld by any means.  I just find it hard to slog through the middles of those novels.

Right now my reading has focused on leap-frogging between classic and modern fiction.  I just finished HHGTTG and now I’m reading All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

I do have thoughts about Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  It will take me a while to elucidate them all in a post.  Preview:  I loved it.  I also have quite a few mechanical pencils to review!  Stay tuned.

One thought on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy impressions

Leave a Reply

