Fire Emblem: Fates Approaches

http://nintendoeverything.com/lots-of-fire-emblem-fates-footage/

I don’t think I’ve made a secret of the fact that Fire Emblem is pretty much my video game OTP.  The newest installment is forthcoming and the link above has a lot of footage.  It looks awesome.  I pre-ordered Birthright and I’m getting release day delivery from Amazon.  *squeal*

Nintendo has split this version up into two full games.  You buy one, and then you get the option to buy the campaign for the other one as DLC for 20 (?) bucks.  That is how DLC should work, in my opinion.  Nintendo gets the benefit of two copies of a popular game that have different stories and different “levels”.  The consumer doesn’t have to pay full price for both versions and can enjoy the second game once they buy a core game.  It’s what they should have done with Pokemon all along. “Gotta buy a few extra Pokemon at full game price!”  For the record, I have never bought two of the same Pokemon game and I never intend to.

On a humorous note, if you watch any of the videos linked above, they form a strong case study of how not to play Fire Emblem.  Don’t get me wrong, Fire Emblem is a hard game (but with kinder difficulty settings available).  I don’t know if Nintendo’s angle is to show someone being bad so the player feels better if they struggle with it a little?  Coddling aside, even the people who do ok in the 21 minute videos have a lot to learn.  And the shorter videos showcase perhaps one of the most incompetent FE players I’ve ever seen.  ;P

Update: As I’ve done more research today I’ve come to learn some critical differences between the two games:

  1. Birthright has been described as more “story-focused” with the grinding that you would expect in a traditional FE game.

  2. Conquest seems to be more “defend X territory” focused with almost no grinding and the expectation that you’ll play with what is given to you.

  3. If I’m understanding correctly (which I may not be), I have read that missions from the game you don’t purchase will be available as DLC as well as a “third pathway” game called Revelation that will also be purchasable as DLC.

Here is a succinct description of the options:  http://serenesforest.net/fire-emblem-fates/miscellaneous/downloadable-content/

3 thoughts on “Fire Emblem: Fates Approaches

    1. klecser Post author

      I need to update the post. Birthright is more like a traditional Fire Emblem game. Conquest is more a “defend this territory game” and supposedly more difficult. So, interestingly, it seems like the tactical feel of the two games is different enough to warrant purchasing both! But Birthright is by far the more traditional Fire Emblem game, it seems.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

